Proverbs 21:1 The king’s heart is in the hand of the Lord, as the rivers of water: he turneth it whithersoever he will.

All over Facebook for the last few weeks I have seen Christians posting that Donald Trump is God’s chosen candidate, that he his God’s anointed, that God has raised Trump up for “such a time as this”.  We seem to feel that somehow winning this election signals some sort of national salvation or that a Clinton victory would have thwarted God’s design.

I agree that God has ordained Donald Trump to lead our nation. This does not mean that we will like the outcome.  Don’t get me wrong — I strongly support Trump’s proposals and I voted for him with joy.  But how many times have we seen a politician say everything we wanted to hear and then once elected do either nothing or the exact opposite of what we’d hoped (I’m looking at you, George W. Bush)?  Should Trump assume the presidency and then repudiate all his promises and continue leading our nation away from the Biblical principles that made us great in the past, does that mean God has forsaken us?

Let’s remember that Nebuchadnezzar was an instrument of God’s will just as much as Cyrus. God promised a kingdom to idolatrous Jeroboam just as personally as He promised a kingdom to godly David.

I will pray for my president. I will write to my congressman. I will defend my principles in the marketplace. I will remain hopeful President Trump keeps his word.  I will seek God’s blessing for my community. But God chooses the direction. If He makes President Trump a source of blessing and prosperity, I will gratefully praise Him. If He uses President Trump as a rod of chastening, I will humbly seek Him. If he calls our nation to further greatness, I will challenge my people to use God’s blessing to expand the gospel reach.  If He allows our country to sink into the obscurity of history, I will trust His glory is more important and more glorious than the greatness of our nation.

